Barton Hill Hotel & Spa - Lewiston, New York, 14092, United States

Guest Reviews at The Barton Hill Hotel and Spa

"Dear Julie, Please share this email with your owners"

It would be indefensible if I didn't formally acknowledge the excellent service I received from your front desk and restaurant staff during my recent stay at your outstanding facility. Also thank you for granting me a military rate, I thoroughly enjoyed my beautifully furnished and immaculate 4th Floor room overlooking the water. Most importantly, I wish to thank Marshall for going out of his way to ensure that my brief stay was everything anyone could possibly expect. Marshall, in fact, brought complimentary a bottle of champagne to my room to express his regret for my having to wait during checked-in. This gesture was quite unnecessary, however. The modest wait was no inconvenience, (Military folks are accustomed to waiting. It comes with the territory.) However, I wish to salute Marshall and the others who contributed so generously and personally to making my stay so memorable. Please let Marshall know how much I appreciate his interpersonal skills, especially nowadays when great service and hospitality -- even at the best facilities -- are often so woefully lacking. Best regards... Commander James R, USN

“Wonderful !”

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this a wonderful place to stay. So charming & comfortable, staff was very friendly and the rooms are very spacious. The view of the river is fantastic, shops & restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely be back!

“Terrific Place ... we'll be back !”

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a great time at this Hotel. My wife and I returned to the area for a University alumni event and we were extremely impressed with the rooms, the staff the quality of the experience. Clean, well cared for and well done. Our room was great and frankly my wife has very high standards and she was very happy with the size, the amenities and the view. We met up with friends who had other types of rooms but we were all happy with the place. We had a great meal in the restaurant overlooking the River and the food and the staff were all excellent. My wife had a massage at the spa and said it was great. We ended up in the lobby for hours visiting with friends and the staff was very accomodating. This place is definately staying on our list of favorites.

“Best Wedding Ever !!!”

Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the beginning to the end, The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa staff were always very professional and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. The wedding reception was FABULOUS! The room looked beautiful, the food was phenomenal and the staff was eager to please! If you are looking for a quick weekend getaway, or a wedding reception, The Barton Hill Hotel and Spa is your place.

“Best Kept Secret”

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I had never heard of Lewiston before we stumbled upon this gem. We wanted to spend a day in Niagara on the Lake, but wanted to be on the US side to avoid Canadian phone bills/wifi. We researched and found this highly rated hotel right on the Niagara River. The hotel is family owned. The staff was beyond helpful and the location was great. We were minutes from wineries, the Canadian border, and the cute town of Lewiston. My kids fished off the pier and we had a great meal at Silo, home of the "man vs food" sandwich......didn't eat it, but loved the view. I would definitely go back!

“Lewiston's Barton Hill Hotel is a Gem”

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with the quality of the Barton Hill hotel. Our room was excellent with a very comfortable 4-post bed and a great view of the Niagara River. The service was high standard and the food was excellent. It was pleasant to stroll down the historioc and tourist-attractive Center street.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went for a quick, much needed getaway at the last minute. It was heaven! We couldn't believe how warm and inviting the hotel was. It started the minute we showed up with a warm greeting from Josh at the front desk. He provided top notch customer service through out our stay and really made us feel welcome. Our room was lovely with nine foot ceilings, a fire place and a tiled bathroom. Dinner was top notch and Diane the owner came over and introduced herself and went our of her way to answer our questions and provide flyers, etc on upcoming events. It was just so relaxing and I haven't even mentioned the lovely, quaint town and the great views. We were so impressed that we even booked out next visit before we left! Highly recomment!

“Great Weekend Getaway”

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel is super-clean and homey while being elegant. Bed is so comfortable and linens were so soft. Staff is courteous and friendly. Would definitely go back. The breakfast was great; dinner was delicious but pricey for the portions.

“Great Graduation Getaway”

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just completed our fourth stay at the historically comfortable Barton Hill Inn and Spa. Our daughter is a recent graduate of Niagara University and the BH is a short 10 minute drive from campus. We chose the BH because of the spacious rooms, comfortable beds with soft linens.
Beautiful river view from our "Sunset Room" that opens on to a shared balcony. BH is within walking distance of many restruants, shops, and pubs.

“Perfect pre summer get away”

Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Barton hill last weekend along with our dog Tank. I was very surprised and thrilled to hear they accepted dogs! We had a lovely breakfast and a lively dinner. Topping it off was a wonderful couples massage at the spa! We will be staying again!

“Terrific Stay”

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were told by some friends who had a great stay about Barton and I must say it was even better than they described. The lobby was absolutely beautiful with wood floors and lovely decor. It is really inviting and we sat with friends over a glass of wine and it was very charming. The staff was extremnely pleasent and attentive. Our car was valeted upon arrival. Our room was incredible. I travel quite a bit and I have never see a room this beautiful other than a Ritz. There was a fireplace, a four poster bed, beautiful curtains and incredible wood moldings throughout the room. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the room of the water was delightful. Our dinner at the hotel was equally good. We had the pork and steak entres and the food was delicious and the service excellent friendly and unpredentious. We did meet the Chef who told us about their farm to table approach using local produce. Breakfast was very good as well.. My only complaint was that we could not stay longer. We will be back. The summer looks very exciting with the performing arts center. We also had a great lunch at the place just across from the Hotel, called the Water Street landing. People in the Village were very friendly and the Town had great shopping. We have already booked our stay in June

“Wonderful spa and dining experience”

Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Barton Hill spa. All of our treatments were provided professionally and skillfully in their relaxing and lovely atmosphere. Every team member we encountered was friendly and helpful and everyone worked well together. Dinner was a delectable delight, absolutely delicious with great presentation. In short, we'll definitely be back!

“WHAT A LOVELY GETAWAY”

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Despite not having the best late April weather, we had a beautiful weekend getaway at the Barton Hill Hotel and Spa. While it looks like it is an old building, innkeeper Diane shared with us how she and her husband built the hotel that overlooks the Niagara River in Lewiston. Lewiston is a quaint little village that has something almost every week and is steeped in history. Diane was a fount of knowledge about the local lore and we plan on returning and doing more exploring in warmer less blustery weather.
The room was comfortable and roomy with a gas fireplace to make it more toasty. The lobby is gorgeous and laid out to encourage guests to sit in small groups, perhaps quoffing some wine, chatting with friends. It is very homey and delightful. The staff were all friendly and helpful and it is even pet friendly.
If you are looking for a nice getaway around the Great Lakes, I highly recommend Barton Hill.
We will be returning ourselves.

“Charming Hotel, Courteous Staff”

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent a wonderful 2 nights at this hotel for our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful with great views (some rooms) and a nice dining room looking over the Niagara River. Excellent food with a staff that would do anything to assist. Rooms are huge and well appointed with a lot of old Victorian charm.
A big thank you to Charnesse at the front desk for all her help. I highly recommend this place!

“great anniversary weekend”

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hotel management looked after all our needs and our anniversary dinner was excellent that was ordered from the menu. Third time staying there and it was our best stay yet. Close to all ammenities and can't wait for the Artpark summer series to start so we can stay midweek.

“Victorian Dream”

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely property with old victorian charm...The lobby was huge with a grand piano (which, I wish I could have played some Mozart) would have fit the nice lobby decor... We were greeted by 2 gentleman at desks(which was unusually nice). Checked into our spacious king suite on the 3rd floor with a river view.The room had soo many beautiful large windows... 2 of which were facing the river. 4 poster king canopy comfortable bed..and fireplace.Wonderful!!! Our room was immaculate very clean. I would recommend a stay on the 4th floor as the wood floors do not hold sound well. We did have a drain problem with our bathroom sink and our heating did not seem to work. We spoke to the front desk and someone came up to fix it. It never did get warm and we addressed the issue upon checkout. They were apologetic and waived the additional tax of $14.92. Across the street from the property there are wonderful wood bench swings spread along the path facing the river. Absolutely wonderful!!!! Overall I could have stayed here forever!!!! Looking forward to booking again once the trees and flowers are in full bloom. This will certainly additional charm to this wonderful wonderful hidden gem....Lewiston is a quaint little town with lots of character. <3 the Barton Hill Spa!!!!

“What a Wonderful Experience”

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I didn't know what to expect from "The Barton Hill Hotel" I have traveled throughout the country on business and pleasure, always staying at a "Chain Like" Hotel. This is the first time I stayed at a Hotel like this (I think they call it a Boutique Hotel). I couldn't believe the way the hotel looked as we pulled in, it is such a beautiful building (I would love to see this place when the tree's and flowers are fully bloomed). The lobby was amazing, so spacious and I liked the seating areas throughout it. I was a little confused on where to check in, because they had two desks instead of the normal counters I'm use to seeing at the chain hotels. I must say I liked it better, it seemed to be more personable. The room that we checked into was great, (they have birds singing as soon as you walk in, the radio plays different types of sounds - really cool) it was really clean. especially the bathroom. There was a flat screen on the wall, fireplace (which we used) there was a separate room with a couch that pulled out to a bed, my son loved it. I was concerned about the bed being comfortable, but to my surprise I felt great when I woke up and got out of bed. We ate at the restaurant, the food was amazing! Breakfast was great too. Oh yeah, the room had a great view of the river. We went to see Niagara Falls, only minutes away. That was a great time, then we spent time in the village of Lewiston which was fun. I would love to stay at a hotel like this when I travel in the future.

“Great Ambiance”

 Reviewed April 12, 2013

A warm & inviting feeling is the ambiance you get when you walk through the doors. Front reception friendly & courteous. Our Riverview Retreat room was spacious with a comforable king size bed & our package included a 3 course dinner. breakfast & valet . WOW!!
Dinner at the Chantry had a fine selection of entrees that were reasonably priced & absolutely scrumptious. Both wines we chose at dinner were unavailable so that was disappointing.We found this to be a chic boutique hotel & spa.

“A charming hotel in a historic town”

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family recently spent the night at the Barton Hill. While I had visited and toured the hotel before, I had never stayed over night. The hotel is in the quaint town of Lewiston, NY. Lewiston is the perfect base for any visit to western New York. It is conveniently close to Niagara Falls, Buffalo, and outlet shopping. It is also just over the border, making it the perfect getaway for Canadians. The location alone is worth the trip. The Barton is situated on a hill overlooking the river flowing from the falls. At the top of the hill there are fantastic restaurants and cafes, access to hiking along the escarpment, and a lovely park (which plays host to concerts and festivals in the summer). Lewiston is a great town any season of the year--highly recommended!
The hotel is relatively new, but is made to look and feel authentic. I believe the owner successfully captured a special authenticity. In my opinion some of the reviews that complain about the hotel are misguided. If you are expecting a cookie-cutter franchise hotel experience, then the Barton might not meet your expectations. If you look hard enough you may find things that need updates, but to me the flaws are negligible. The hotel is charming, clean, and exudes history (there is even a cannon ball from the war of 1812 in the lobby!). The rooms are also HUGE--perfect for families.
My experience with the owner, Diane, was also great. We ran into her on our way back from dinner in town while she was heading out for the night. She stopped and talked to us and was very friendly (even offering to open up her home, the original Barton estate--the inspiration for the hotel). You could tell she was very passionate about Lewiston and the Barton. She greatly appreciates her customers too. When we told her we couldn't get a room at the Barton for my upcoming graduation in May, she made a special note and took our email addresses down, ensuring us she would try her best to help us out.
So many things make this hotel special. Are there some flaws? Yes. Do they add to the charm? Absolutely. You will not regret your trip.

 

“Luxury combined with old world charm in historic Lewiston.”

Reviewed March 31, 2013 NEW

A hidden gem in an idyllic setting. The perfect place for a weekend getaway from the hustle bustle of the city. Beautiful interior with special attention to small details. My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel several times with our teenage boys. It is now our family favorite. Dinner and breakfast were both fabulous. We will definitely return in the summer and hope to catch a concert or two at Artpark.

“Fantastic 2nd Stay, ready for the 3rd.”

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently went to Lewiston to visit some friends and for some relaxation this past weekend. The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa was great as always. They have definitely made some improvements since I was last there. The lobby and foyer seemed to be more updated than before, but still kept the elegance and charm that it has always had. The dining room had been rearranged and offered an even better view of the River than you could have imagined. It seemed as though everyone else was pleased with this new arrangement as well because the Chantry had more people in it than I had ever seen. Not to mention, my fish was fantastic. That chef truly knows what he is doing. The service was even better than the last time I was there, I didn't even think that was possible. The bed was just a comfortable as I remembered, you simply sink right in to the bed and almost instantly fall asleep. I was expecting the check out process to take a little while as it had before simply because the amount of people that had been in the hotel. To my surprise, everything went very smoothly, alothough I was very sad to leave.

“Very Nice clean hotel with staffs that appreciates your business”

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Peeps this is the spot to be for a quiet relaxing experience... nice scent in the lobby. The room was very big, super clean and the bed was very comfortable. I love that the washroom had a shower and a bathtub plus very roomy. The Tv was up to date and had lots of channels. The room had a fire place and yes you get a remote control. The wall was sound proof. We stayed on the fourth floor in room Pamela. The staff was friendly and I love that they acknowledge their customers presence. I really felt like they appreciate my business. Suggestion : The portion of the food was not right for around $23.00 per meal yet delicious. Please add salad entries to the menu like chicken salad, garden salad etc.. Maybe the menu was limited because of the time we stayed. The wine menu was reasonable priced. OVERALL a fantastic experience and I will always stay here if I have to over night in buffalo.

“A great place to spending your wedding anniversary”

Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is our second time at the Barton Hill Hotel and Spa. We decided to come back to spend our wedding anniversary for a week-end of R&R, The staff once again went out of there way to make it an enjoyable time. The fireplace in our room on a cold winters night just add to the atmosphere. The breakfast and dinner are always to good taste. Thank you again, can't wait until to go again - but this time we shall pick the summer.

“Wonderful winter weekend get-away!”

Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed spending two nights at the Barton Hill Hotel and Spa. The hotel was warm,inviting and bustling with activity on a very cold winter weekend. The Hotel is beautiful and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was very spacious and the bed linens were lovely. The continental breakfast was delicious! We will definitely reccommend and also return to the Barton Hill Hotel and Spa!!

 

“A gem that feels more like a B&B than a hotel”

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa this past weekend for the third or fourth time. We live south of Buffalo, and find it to be the perfect one or two night getaway. Lewiston is a charming town with a lot of great shops, antiques, restaurants, and bars. It was also the first annual Cocktail Festival, which turned out to be a great success. The quality and size of the rooms at the Barton Hill are wonderful; antique pieces, hardwood floors, canopy beds with fresh white linens, fireplaces in the rooms, riverview, and the bathrooms are huge, marble, etc. It has always been clean, quiet, relaxing. We entered the room to spa sounds coming from the alarm clock. The restaurant for dinner is wonderful, we have never had a bad meal, and the continental breakast that is included in your stay is generous and very tasty. LOVE the chocolate pastries!

 

“Love, love, love this hotel!!!”

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just returned from my 7th visit to the Barton Hill Hotel & Spa and have already booked my 8th...returning in 3 weeks. I'm a Canadian who enjoys shopping in the USA. In the past, I have stayed in Buffalo, or Niagara Falls, NY. Since discovering the Barton Hill, I will not stay anywhere else. The rooms are spacious, clean and lovely. The staff are warm and friendly and the historic town of Lewiston is beautiful. We always look forward to dining at the hotel as the chef prepares the most incredible dishes. There is no question that we will continue to return to this hotel for many years to come!

 

“Absolutely Amazing! Definitely coming back”

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for our (late) Valentines Day/(early)Anniversary getaway. It was perfect! Incredibly clean, HUGE rooms, amazing service (the staff are actually 'real' people), and the dinner was perfect.
The Riverview King Room was phenomenal. Living across the border by the river, we did not really think it would be that big of a deal; but it was. The view is gorgeous and it is quite romantic and peaceful waking up and seeing the river flowing. The bed is also extremely comfortable. The room was a little cold, but it is an older building so that is to be expected. Just come prepared with warmer clothes; not that big of a deal. But the sheets were incredibly warm, so the temperature of the room was quite fine.
If I were to give constructive criticism, a mini-fridge would be nice in the room. This would just allow guests to keep some drinks and snacks for late in the evening.
Overall, Barton Hill is an amazing hotel not to be missed. We will definitely be back for other special dates. I highly recommend Barton Hill to anyone.

 

"Lovely & Relaxing"  Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed midweek & were lucky to be upgraded to a king room. Gorgeous river view, lovely room & very comfortable king bed. Love the lobby & overall atmosphere of the inn. Close to the shops & restaurants, as well as the river. We will be back in the summer!

Room Tip: Corner king with riverview is gorgeous and spacious! HUGE shower too.

 

“An excellent Hotel with small town Charm !!”   Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tired of the usual Canadian over commercialized Falls ? Then the Barton Hill Hotel and Spa is just the place to go. Located a mere 10 mins from the Lewiston bridge and 15 mins from the Falls themselves. Located on the shore of the niagara river and within walking distance from the downtown.
My wife and I just returned from this great hotel and plan to return in the future. The staff was welcoming from our arrival to the time we left. The rooms were done up perfectly and the bathrooms were as clean as could be. Breakfast was the only meal that we had during this stay but enjoyed all that was available. We also enjoyed a couples massage from this valentines weekend and would recommend it to anyone after a long drive or a day of shopping.
Lewiston is a small New York town full of history and well worth the visit, from the restaurants to the orange cat coffee co., to the people of Lewiston and those at the Barton Hill , Thank You .

Mike & Melanie

 

“Very nice hotel with a "character"...”   Reviewed February 14, 2013

Treated my wife for her birthday and we spent one January (2013) night here ;not too many guests as it was in the middle of winter. Location....excellent....by the Niagara River, walking distance to boat launch, walking distance to historic Lewiston downtown.... a few minutes drive to Niagara Falls USA side and Niagara Falls, Canada... Lewiston has many nice stores and eateries. Staff .....the daytime young lady at the checkin counter was very good and friendly and helpful....nighttime lady not so. Room...excellent furnishings....nice bed, etc. I can only assume it is even nicer to stay in this hotel in the spring or summer months. Price....we paid a very reaonable price for a promotional package that included dinner and casino coupons (Seneca Casino, a few minutes away by car). We recommended this place to friends of my wife who have a boat. My wife enjoyed the treat.

“A most enjoyable experience!”   Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a most enjoyable stay for 1 night in late January, 2013. The location was great overlooking the Niagara River. In the summer it must be even more beautiful. The accommodations were excellent. The room was a pleasant surprise being large and well appointed. It was spacious, very comfortable, the bed was great and we had an electric fire place which was just right. The hotel was just recently built but the architecture is done to make the interior appear as if it was 100 years old. Very well done!!
We had supper and breakfast. The service was excellent and the food was very good. We would definitely stay again on another occasion.

Don & Linda

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Niagara River. In the summer choose a room with access to the front veranda

“Little weekend getaway/shopping with the twins”   Reviewed February 7, 2013

Beautiful clean hotel with lovely views! felt like i was in a chalet in Aspen! Service was exceptional, staff was courteous helpful, they even parked our car and provided us with a playpen for our twins, we brought our niece too last minute and they were extremely accommodating.

Room Tip: All rooms seem great!

Barton Hill Hotel & Spa
100 Center Street
Lewiston, New York, 14092, United States
Call: 716-754-9070

Info

Barton Hill Hotel & Spa near Niagara Falls, NY

The Barton Hill Hotel & Spa minutes from Niagara Falls, NY is the Niagara Region’s premier destination, combining the charm and comfort of a historic country inn with the service and amenities of a luxury hotel. This boutique Niagara Falls Hotel is only minutes from the american side of Niagara Falls, guests at Barton Hill Hotel & Spa will find luxurious accommodations and exceptional personal service in a serene location perfectly suited for a romantic getaway near Niagara Falls, NY or a business retreat.